Skip to content

The monthly figure is not the whole bill

The figure on a rate card is the easy part to compare, and it is rarely the part that decides what you pay. Five other lines sit outside it. On some of them a vendor hands you a number you can budget against; on others all six go quiet in the same place.

Five lines that are not the plan fee

A rate card answers one question: what the software costs to have. It does not answer what it costs to run, and the difference is not small change. Money leaves through five other doors — the cut taken on every card payment, the charge for one more person on the app, what happens when you run more work than your tier allows, the parts sold beside the plan, and whatever it takes to get you live.

We went through all six products looking for a figure on each of those five. Here is how far we got.

How many of the six vendors attach a figure to each cost line
Attribute Vendors with a figure Which ones And the rest
Taking a card payment 2 of 6 Jobber and ServiceM8 Housecall Pro publishes the bottom of a range and no fixed amount beside it. The other 3 publish nothing.
Adding one more login 3 of 6 Jobber, ServiceM8 and Housecall Pro And never on all of them — each of the three leaves at least one of its own tiers without a figure.
Running past what a tier allows 1 of 6 ServiceM8 On its largest tier. Whether the tiers beneath it work the same way, we did not establish.
Add-ons sold beside the plan 2 of 6 Jobber and ServiceM8 3 more name their add-ons and put no figure on any of them.
Getting set up 0 of 6 None of the six 3 of them describe the work on their own pages. Not one attaches a figure to it.

Our analysis — Counted from what each vendor publishes on its own pages.

Read the bottom row first. Every one of these products has to be set up, loaded with your customer list and taught to your crew. 3 of the 6 describe that work somewhere on their own pages. Not one of them says what it costs.

The cut on every card payment

This is the line that moves the most money and the one buyers check last. It is charged on what your customers pay you, not on what you pay the vendor, so it grows with the business while the subscription sits still.

What each vendor publishes about processing a card payment
Attribute Card rate How it reads on their page
Jobber 2.9% + 30¢ per transaction 2.9% + 30 cents. A percentage and a fixed amount, both stated. You can work out what a month costs. ServiceM8 3.05% + 30¢ per transaction The rate charged on a US-issued card, American Express included. A percentage and a fixed amount, both stated. You can work out what a month costs. Housecall Pro from 2.59% per transaction — a stated lower bound, not a price anyone is quoted. "as low as 2.59%" is the bottom of a range, not a rate anyone is quoted. What a given shop actually pays, and what moves it up from there, are not published anywhere on the page. The bottom of a range, with nothing published about what moves you off it. ServiceTitan Not publicly disclosed A figure exists, but the vendor does not publish it. We asked its public materials first. No processing rates published on the pricing page. The payments product exists. We found no rates published for it. FieldEdge Not publicly disclosed A figure exists, but the vendor does not publish it. We asked its public materials first. FieldEdge Payments exists but no rates were found published. The payments product exists. We found no rates published for it. Workiz Not publicly disclosed A figure exists, but the vendor does not publish it. We asked its public materials first. Workiz Pay exists as a product but no rates were found published. The payments product exists. We found no rates published for it.

Official — Published by the vendor.

2 of the 6 hand you a rate you could put in a budget. Housecall Pro gives you the bottom of a range — “as low as” is a claim about the best case, not a number anyone is quoted, and there is no fixed per-transaction amount beside it, so even the floor cannot be turned into a monthly figure. The other 3 publish nothing at all, though all three sell a payments product.

What the difference is worth

Percentages are hard to feel, so here is every published rate turned into money on a thousand dollars taken. The fixed part per transaction is listed separately because it depends on how many payments you take, not how big they are.

What each published processing rate costs on a thousand dollars taken
Attribute Published rate On every $1,000 taken Plus, per payment
Jobber · Bank payment (ACH) processing (Jobber Payments) 1% $10 Not publicly disclosed No fixed amount per payment is published beside this rate.
Housecall Pro · Bank payment (ACH) processing 1% $10 Not publicly disclosed No fixed amount per payment is published beside this rate.
Housecall Pro · Card processing from 2.59% at least $25.90 Not publicly disclosed No fixed amount per payment is published beside this rate.
Jobber · Tap to Pay processing (Jobber Payments) 2.7% $27 30¢
Jobber · Credit card processing (Jobber Payments) 2.9% $29 30¢
ServiceM8 · ServiceM8 Pay — Standard Domestic card processing 3.05% $30.50 30¢
ServiceM8 · ServiceM8 Pay — International card processing 4.6% $46 30¢

Our analysis — Our judgement, based on the research below.

Now put a shop behind it. Say you run $25,000 a month through the card reader — swap in whatever your own merchant statement says. The gap between the two published card rates is 0.15% of volume, which on that month is $37.50, set against Jobber's Core tier at $49/mo. A line nobody compares is moving money on the same order as the line everybody compares.

The bigger number is not between vendors at all. Jobber and Housecall Pro both publish 1% on a bank payment against 2.9% on a card — a spread of 1.9% on everything you take. On the same $25,000 that is $475 a month , about 9 times the tier figure itself, and it turns on which button your customer presses rather than on which product you bought. One caution before you lean on it: neither vendor publishes a fixed amount per bank payment, so we cannot tell you whether one is charged on top.

The fixed part is small and relentless. 30¢ a payment is $30 across 100 card payments in a month, whatever those payments were worth — so it bites hardest on a shop doing plenty of small tickets, which is the same shop the cheap tiers are aimed at.

One more person on the app

Hiring is the cost line you can actually see coming, and it is the one a rate card is least likely to answer in full. 3 of the 6 attach a figure to another login, and not one of those 3 does it on every tier it lists.

What each vendor publishes about adding one more login
Attribute One more login On which tiers it says so
Jobber $29 /mo per seat "Add users for $29/mo each". Per month, per user. Core, Connect
ServiceM8 $0 /mo unlimited users included — verified: no charge. No per-seat charge on paid plans — users are unlimited. Cost scales with job volume instead. A verified $0, not a missing value. Starter, Growing, Premium, Premium Plus
Housecall Pro $35 /mo per seat Footnote on the MAX tier: "*$35/mo per additional user". MAX
ServiceTitan Custom quote Additional seats are a quote variable under the per-technician model; no rate is published. No tier carries a figure for it.
FieldEdge Custom quote The number of technicians or employees is a named quote driver, but no per-seat rate is published. No tier carries a figure for it.
Workiz Not publicly disclosed Not published. Third-party guides circulate figures for this and they disagree with one another, which is reason enough not to repeat any of them here. No tier carries a figure for it.

Official — Published by the vendor.

ServiceM8's zero is a real answer, not a missing one: its paid tiers say users are unlimited, and it charges for work rather than for people. The other two figures come with a boundary attached. Housecall Pro prices a seat on its largest tier and, below that, says only that extra users are available there — so what a sixth person costs a shop on a middle tier is not something you can read. Jobber publishes one seat charge across its rate card, and on the two tiers sold as fixed bundles of logins we could not establish whether that same charge applies.

Which of these shapes is cheaper for your crew is a different question, and it has its own guide: per seat or per job, worked through with two shops.

Running more work than your tier allows

Only one of the six sells by how much work you do, so only one of them can charge you for doing more of it. ServiceM8's tiers each come with a job allowance, and its largest tier publishes what an extra job costs past that allowance.

What a job costs inside each ServiceM8 tier's own allowance
Attribute Per month Jobs it allows Which works out per job
Starter $29/mo 50 58¢ a job
Growing $79/mo 150 52.7¢ a job
Premium $149/mo 500 29.8¢ a job
Premium Plus $349/mo 1,500 23.3¢ a job

Our analysis — Our judgement, based on the research below.

The published charge for going over is 20¢ a job. Put it against that last column and something odd falls out: an extra job past the cap is charged at less than a job works out at inside any of the allowances, including the tier the charge is published for. Before you read anything into that, note that this charge is published for one tier only — we could not establish what the smaller tiers do at the cap, and the difference between billing overage and refusing to open the job is the whole question. Do not plan around it.

That figure is published for one tier, and we could not check the others

20¢ a job appears in connection with Premium Plus. We could not establish whether the smaller tiers bill the same way, bill differently, or simply stop letting you open a job at the cap — and that is our gap, not a statement from the vendor.

It matters most to exactly the shop the cheap tier looks made for: the one averaging well inside its allowance that runs double in a storm week. Ask before you pick the tier.

The same vendor bills text messages at 10¢ each on its free tier and states that texts are included on the paid ones, while the same page also refers to charges for going over on texts. The two statements sit side by side and we could not work out where the line falls, so we are not going to guess at it for you.

Nobody else in the set sells by volume, and no other vendor publishes an allowance you could exceed. That is not the same as a promise that you can run as much work as you like — none of them says so, and we have left it open rather than fill it in.

The parts sold beside the plan

Every one of the six sells something that is not in the tier you signed for. The question is whether you can find out what it costs before the call.

Add-ons each vendor names, and how many of them carry a figure
Attribute What it sells separately How many carry a figure
Jobber Marketing Suite, Pipeline, Receptionist 3 of 3
ServiceM8 ServiceM8 Phone, SMS messages 2 of 2
Housecall Pro Pipeline, Sales Proposal Tool, Service Plans 0 of 3
ServiceTitan Not yet verified We did not establish which parts of this product are sold apart from the plan. Not yet verified We have no list to count.
FieldEdge Academy, Consumer Management Portal, MarketingEdge, Proposal Pro 0 of 4
Workiz Genius Answering, Genius Marketing, Genius Phone 0 of 3

Official — Published by the vendor.

2 of the 6 attach figures to what they sell separately. 3 name their extras and put a figure on none of them, so you can see the shape of that part of the bill without seeing its size. For ServiceTitan we do not hold the list at all, and that one is our gap rather than theirs.

What each of Jobber's separately sold add-ons costs per month
Attribute Per month
Marketing Suite $99 /mo flat rate
Pipeline $49 /mo flat rate
Receptionist $29 /mo flat rate
All 3 together $177/mo

Our analysis — Our judgement, based on the research below.

Take all 3 and you are paying $177/mo beside a tier that starts at $49/mo. Nobody has to take them, and that is the point: the tier figure you compared was never the figure you would have ended up on. We would rather a vendor publish these and let you add them up than leave you to find out on a renewal.

ServiceM8 publishes one add-on figure and it is another floor: from $19 /mo flat rate — a stated lower bound, not a price anyone is quoted. "From $19/month" is a stated lower bound, not a price. Includes a 1-month free trial. for its phone system. “From” is the second time on this page that a starting figure stands in for a rate, and it has the same problem — you cannot build a monthly total out of a lower bound.

Housecall Pro names three paid extras and prices none of them. One of the three is described as a value bundled into its largest tier rather than as something with a list price, which is a marketing figure, not a rate, so we have not carried it across as one. Workiz and FieldEdge each name their add-ons and tell you to call. In Workiz's case that includes the phone and answering tools that are the main reason most shops look at it — so the quote for the tier is not a quote for the thing you wanted.

Getting live: nobody publishes a figure

This is the finding we did not expect to be unanimous. All 6 of these products have to be set up. 3 of them describe that work on their own pages. None of them puts a number on it.

What each vendor says about setting you up, and what it charges for it
Attribute What it says about the work What it charges
Jobber Nothing about setup appears beside the rates. Not publicly disclosed No onboarding, setup or implementation fee appears on the pricing page.
ServiceM8 Points you at independent partners for setup and training, and does not set what they charge. Not publicly disclosed No mandatory vendor fee is published. Third-party partner fees are not set by ServiceM8 and are not published.
Housecall Pro Nothing about setup appears beside the rates. Not publicly disclosed No setup/onboarding/implementation fee appears on the pricing page. The page states "No contracts" and "No long-term contracts".
ServiceTitan Describes a full build: a consultant, data analysts and training packages, with the details handled by your account manager. Not publicly disclosed A formal implementation process is documented; no fee is published.
FieldEdge Says its team walks you through onboarding, and gives that as its reason for offering no trial. Not publicly disclosed Onboarding is described as team-led; no onboarding fee is published.
Workiz Does not raise the subject on either of its two rate pages. Not publicly disclosed Not addressed on the pricing page.

Official — Published by the vendor.

Two of those rows describe serious work. ServiceTitan documents a build with a consultant and data analysts on it and routes the training packages through your account manager. FieldEdge says onboarding is the reason it offers no trial — its team walks you through it instead. Somebody is paid for both of those, and neither page says who pays or how much.

Be careful how you read the two blanks at the top of that column. Jobber and Housecall Pro simply do not raise setup beside their rates, and a vendor saying nothing is not a vendor saying it is free. It may well be included. We are recording that we asked the page and the page did not answer.

The one question this page ends on

Whatever you shortlist, get the setup charge in writing as its own figure before you sign, along with what happens to it if you leave in month four. It is the only one of these five lines where every vendor in this set is quiet, which makes it the one where a buyer has the least idea what normal looks like.

What to do with this

You cannot compare six products on the five lines above, because three of them will not tell you four of the five. What you can do is stop treating the tier figure as the comparison and start treating it as one line of five. For the three that publish, add the card cut on your real volume, the logins you will need in a year, and any add-on you would actually turn on — then see whether the order you started with survives it.

For the three that sell by quote, the five lines are the agenda for the call. Why three of these six vendors only give you a quote goes through what to get in writing.

Run your own numbers

Every fee, rate and add-on we hold, vendor by vendor:

Where this information comes from

Every figure on this page
Read from each vendor's own published pages and stored with the date we checked it. Official — Published by the vendor.
The reasoning
Ours, built only from the figures above. Where we do arithmetic, every step is shown so you can redo it. Our analysis — Our judgement, based on the research below.
What is missing
Named on the page where it bites. A figure no vendor publishes is written as unknown, never estimated. Not verified — We don't have this yet.

Primary sources we read

“Verified” means a person re-read the source on the date shown. A deploy never changes that date.