Skip to content

Per seat or per job: which billing model is cheaper for your shop?

Three of the six products we track publish their figures, and they bill in three different shapes. Which one is cheaper for you turns on two numbers you already know: how many people need a login, and how many jobs you run in a month.

Three products, three different shapes

Every one of these publishes a figure you can read without talking to anyone. What the figure is for is different in each case, which is why lining them up in a single column is the fastest way to get the answer wrong.

How each of the three publishing vendors bills, and what its cheapest paid tier includes
Attribute Jobber Core ServiceM8 Starter Housecall Pro Basic
What the charge is per A login Jobs you create in a month The tier, with seats bundled in
Cheapest paid tier $49 /mo 1 user included Month-to-month, no commitment. Page states "All prices in USD". $29 /mo 50 jobs/month, unlimited users 50 jobs/month, unlimited users. $79 /mo 1 user included Month-to-month billing.
Logins that includes 1 user Unlimited users 1 user
Jobs a month that includes Not yet verified Nothing on this vendor's published rates mentions a job allowance, and it does not state that there is none. 50 jobs Not yet verified Nothing on this vendor's published rates mentions a job allowance, and it does not state that there is none.
One more login $29 /mo per seat "Add users for $29/mo each". Per month, per user. $0 /mo unlimited users included — verified: no charge. No per-seat charge on paid plans — users are unlimited. Cost scales with job volume instead. A verified $0, not a missing value. Not publicly disclosed The vendor states "Additional users are available on the MAX plan" and publishes a per-user price only for MAX. Whether this plan can add seats at all, and at what price, is not published.

Official — Published by the vendor.

Read the bottom row again. On Jobber, another person costs $29/mo. On ServiceM8, another person costs nothing at all — that is a published zero on every paid tier, not a figure we could not find. On Housecall Pro, the charge for another seat is published for MAX only; on Basic and Essentials the vendor's own information page says extra users are available on MAX, and no figure appears, so the cost of outgrowing those tiers is genuinely not published.

The $29 that is not the same $29

Jobber's page shows $29 twice. It is the standing rate for a year of Core paid up front with one login on it, and it is also what each extra login costs. Jobber writes that second one as “Add users for $29 each” and does not say which billing cycle it attaches to, so the worked figures below add it to the monthly rate — ask Jobber to confirm before you budget on it. ServiceM8's $29 is a month of Starter: 50 jobs, and as many people as you want on it.

So the same three digits buy one more person on one product and 50 jobs with unlimited people on the other. Any table that prints them side by side without that sentence is not comparing anything.

On the annual rate

Jobber's annual Core rate is currently discounted for the first year. We take the standing rate as the figure — what you pay from month 13 — and treat the introductory one as what it is. A first-year rate is a fine reason to buy and a bad basis for a comparison, because it makes whichever vendor is running the best offer this quarter look like the cheapest product.

A six-tech shop running forty jobs a month

Six people who all need the app on their phone. Forty jobs on the board in an average month — bigger tickets, fewer of them. Here is what each of the three would charge, month to month, built only from figures the vendors publish.

What six logins and forty jobs a month costs on each of the three publishing vendors
Attribute Tier Per month How that is built
Jobber Core $194/mo $49/mo carries one login. The other 5 are $29/mo each.
ServiceM8 Starter $29/mo 40 jobs sits inside the 50-job allowance, and users are unlimited, so the head count does not enter the figure.
Housecall Pro MAX $329/mo The cheapest tier that bundles 6 logins — 8 come with it. Essentials bundles 5 and the charge for a sixth on that tier is not published, so it cannot be priced.

Our analysis — Our judgement, based on the research below.

Same six people, same forty jobs: $29, $194 and $329 a month. None of that spread comes from how much work you did. It comes from what each vendor decided to count.

A two-tech shop running four hundred jobs a month

Now turn it around. Two people, one van each, short jobs, high volume — the shape of a service and repair round rather than an install business.

What two logins and four hundred jobs a month costs on each of the three publishing vendors
Attribute Tier Per month How that is built
Jobber Core $78/mo $49/mo plus one extra login at $29/mo. Nothing on Jobber's published rates changes with the number of jobs.
ServiceM8 Premium $149/mo 400 jobs clears the 50 and 150-job tiers. The published tier that covers it allows 500.
Housecall Pro Essentials $189/mo Basic bundles 1 login and does not publish what a second one costs, so the cheapest tier we can actually price for two people is the one that bundles 5.

Our analysis — Our judgement, based on the research below.

The order has reversed. Jobber was $165 a month dearer than ServiceM8 for the six-tech shop; here it is $71 a month cheaper. Nothing about either product changed between the two examples. Only the shop did.

Where it flips, one seat at a time

Jobber's rate is a straight line: $49 for the first login, then $29 for every one after it. ServiceM8's is flat at $29 for as many people as you like, for as long as you stay under 50 jobs a month. Housecall Pro's steps at each bundle boundary and cannot be read between them.

Monthly figure by number of logins, holding job volume inside ServiceM8's Starter allowance
Attribute Jobber Core ServiceM8 Starter, under 50 jobs Housecall Pro Cheapest tier that fits
1 login $49/mo $29/mo $79/mo · Basic
2 logins $78/mo $29/mo $189/mo · Essentials
3 logins $107/mo $29/mo $189/mo · Essentials
4 logins $136/mo $29/mo $189/mo · Essentials
5 logins $165/mo $29/mo $189/mo · Essentials
6 logins $194/mo $29/mo $329/mo · MAX
7 logins $223/mo $29/mo $329/mo · MAX
8 logins $252/mo $29/mo $329/mo · MAX

Our analysis — Our judgement, based on the research below.

Notice that there is no crossover in that table. Inside Starter's job allowance ServiceM8 is under Jobber at every head count, and the gap widens by $29 with every person you hire, because on one side a person has a price and on the other side a person does not. The line that actually moves is jobs. Each time your volume pushes ServiceM8 up a tier, its flat figure jumps and Jobber's does not — so the real question is how many logins it takes for the per-seat ladder to climb past each of ServiceM8's tiers.

The number of logins at which Jobber's Core ladder passes each ServiceM8 tier
Attribute ServiceM8 tier Flat per month Jobber Core passes it at
Starter · 50 jobs $29/mo the first login — $49/mo already sits above it
Growing · 150 jobs $79/mo 3 logins, at $107/mo
Premium · 500 jobs $149/mo 5 logins, at $165/mo
Premium Plus · 1,500 jobs $349/mo 12 logins, at $368/mo

Our analysis — Our judgement, based on the research below.

That is the whole argument in one table. Read a row as a trade: you can have 150 jobs a month and unlimited people for $79/mo, or you can have however many jobs you like and pay per person. Which of those is the better deal is a fact about your shop.

Housecall Pro's column is a staircase because that is how it is sold. Between 1 and 5 logins you are paying for seats you may not be using, and past 8 each further seat is $35/mo on top.

What we could not check, and where it bites

These are not caveats at the bottom of the page. Each one of them can change the answer above for a real shop, and none of them can be closed from what the vendors publish.

What ServiceM8 charges above the cap
An overage of 20¢ per extra job is published in connection with Premium Plus only. Whether the tiers beneath it bill overage the same way, or simply stop letting you create jobs at the cap, is not stated anywhere we could find. So a shop that averages forty jobs but hits sixty in July cannot be priced from published figures — and that shop is exactly who Starter looks cheapest for.
What a seat costs on Housecall Pro below MAX
$35/mo per additional seat is published for MAX. For Basic and Essentials the vendor states that additional users are available on the MAX plan and publishes no figure, so the cost of a sixth person on Essentials is unknown rather than zero. It is the single biggest hole in this vendor's cost model, and it lands precisely on the shop size this guide is about.
Whether Jobber caps jobs at all
Nothing on Jobber's published rates mentions a job allowance. That is not the same as the vendor stating there is no limit, so we record it as unchecked rather than as unlimited. If you are the four-hundred-jobs shop, ask.
What a specific Jobber user bundle costs
Grow and Plus are sold by a selectable bundle of logins. We could read each tier's outer range but not the figure attached to a particular bundle, because the page prices it through a selector. Both ranges are on the plan tables, marked as ranges.
Anything annual from ServiceM8
Jobber and Housecall Pro both publish a lower annual rate. ServiceM8 publishes none at all — its page presents monthly figures with no lock-ins. So the annual comparison in this guide is one-sided, and we have left it out rather than compare a discounted figure against an undiscounted one.

Two lines that move more money than the subscription

Card processing

Jobber takes 2.9% plus 30¢ on a card payment. ServiceM8 takes 3.05% plus 30¢ on a US domestic card. Housecall Pro publishes only a floor — as low as 2.59% — with no fixed per-transaction figure and no published explanation of what moves it, so it is not a rate you can budget against.

The gap between the two published rates is 0.15% of card volume. On every $10,000 you take by card that is $15 — which for a busy shop is larger than the difference between the two subscriptions it was choosing between.

Add-ons

Jobber publishes figures for 3 separately sold add-ons: Receptionist at $29/mo, Pipeline at $49/mo, Marketing Suite at $99/mo. Each one is optional, and each one is a real line on the bill if you take it.

None of the three publishes an onboarding or setup figure. Absence of a mention is not a statement that nothing is charged, so we record that as unknown too.

One thing that is not about money at all

Check what phones your crew carries before you price ServiceM8

iOS-first. The full product is an iPhone/iPad app; Android is served only by a cut-down "ServiceM8 Lite" app described as basic functionality for field technicians and temporary workers.

This guide points a crowded, low-volume shop at job-volume billing. If that crew is on Android, the product they would actually be using is not the product the figures above describe, and the cheaper monthly rate stops being the deciding number.

So which is cheaper?

Neither, and that is not a dodge — it is the finding. Count the people who need a login and count the jobs you create in a month, then look at which of those two numbers is growing. If the head count is climbing faster than the job count, per-seat billing is the line that gets away from you. If the job count is climbing faster, the job-volume tiers are. Housecall Pro sits between the two and can only be priced at its bundle boundaries.

Run your own numbers

The full tables, add-ons and fees for each of the three:

Where this information comes from

Every figure on this page
Read from each vendor's own published pages and stored with the date we checked it. Official — Published by the vendor.
The reasoning
Ours, built only from the figures above. Where we do arithmetic, every step is shown so you can redo it. Our analysis — Our judgement, based on the research below.
What is missing
Named on the page where it bites. A figure no vendor publishes is written as unknown, never estimated. Not verified — We don't have this yet.

Primary sources we read

“Verified” means a person re-read the source on the date shown. A deploy never changes that date.