ServiceM8 alternatives: what changes when job volume stops setting the bill
Usually it is the phones. ServiceM8’s full product is an iPhone and iPad app, and its own pages describe the Android side as a cut-down app for field techs — which means a crew on Android is buying a materially different product. After that it is the meter: your tier is set by how many jobs you create in a month, so a busy month costs more than a quiet one, and below the top tier ServiceM8 does not say what happens when you hit the cap. Unknown, in our reading, is the part that bites, because you find out in the month you are busiest.
What ServiceM8 does well
Our analysis — Our reading, with the ServiceM8 record behind each line.Plenty of shops should read this page and stay where they are. Before anything below, here is what we can show that ServiceM8 gets right.
Logins are unlimited on every paid tier, so putting the whole crew on the system costs nothing extra.
By job volumeEach tier says how many jobs a month it covers, which is a number a dispatcher already knows.
Free 30 jobs Starter 50 jobs Growing 150 jobs Premium 500 jobs Premium Plus 1,500 jobsThere is a genuinely free tier, so you can run real work through it rather than a demo.
Free $0 /mo 30 jobs/month, 1 user — verified: no charge. Free tier: 30 jobs/month, 1 user, SMS charged at 10 cents each.It publishes what card payments cost, as a percentage and a per-transaction charge.
ServiceM8 Pay — Standard Domestic card processing 3.05% + 30¢ per transaction The rate charged on a US-issued card, American Express included.
What ServiceM8 will not tell you
Not verified — Checked against ServiceM8's own pages, and still open.These are the figures we went looking for on ServiceM8's own pages and did not find — not our guesses about them, and not zeros.
All five US tier prices are published, but three cost drivers are not: no annual or prepaid rate is published at all; whether job overage applies below Premium Plus (or whether lower tiers hard-stop at their cap) is not stated; and the paid-plan SMS threshold is not stated — SMS is described as free on paid plans while the same page also references text-message overage fees.
- The annual rate
- Not publicly disclosed No separate annual or prepaid rate was observed; pricing is presented monthly with "no lock-ins" and free upgrade or downgrade at any time.
- Setup / training
- Not publicly disclosed No mandatory vendor fee is published. Third-party partner fees are not set by ServiceM8 and are not published.
What you would get instead
These 5 earned a place the same way: something verified on both sides that genuinely differs from ServiceM8. Anything we could not tell apart from ServiceM8 is not here, however well known. Alphabetical, unranked.
FieldEdge
Official — Both sides read from each vendor's own published pages.- What changes
-
- How it bills ServiceM8 By job volume FieldEdge Quote only — no published rate card
- What you can see before a sales call ServiceM8 publishes its plan prices, with named gaps FieldEdge gives you a quote, never a rate card
- Online booking ServiceM8 included FieldEdge included, with limits
- Mobile app ServiceM8 included, with limits FieldEdge included
- Where you would start
- Custom quote This vendor sells through its sales team and prices each shop individually.
Housecall Pro
Official — Both sides read from each vendor's own published pages.- What changes
-
- How it bills ServiceM8 By job volume Housecall Pro Flat per tier, seats bundled
- Mobile app ServiceM8 included, with limits Housecall Pro included
- What would not
-
- What you can see before a sales call — both put their figures on their own site
- Trying it first — both publish a free trial
- Where you would start
- $79 /mo 1 user included
Jobber
Official — Both sides read from each vendor's own published pages.- What changes
-
- How it bills ServiceM8 By job volume Jobber Per seat
- Mobile app ServiceM8 included, with limits Jobber included
- What would not
-
- What you can see before a sales call — both put their figures on their own site
- Trying it first — both publish a free trial
- Where you would start
- $49 /mo 1 user included
ServiceTitan
Official — Both sides read from each vendor's own published pages.- What changes
-
- How it bills ServiceM8 By job volume ServiceTitan Per technician
- What you can see before a sales call ServiceM8 publishes its plan prices, with named gaps ServiceTitan gives you a quote, never a rate card
- Mobile app ServiceM8 included, with limits ServiceTitan included
- Where you would start
- Custom quote This vendor sells through its sales team and prices each shop individually.
Workiz
Official — Both sides read from each vendor's own published pages.- What changes
-
- How it bills ServiceM8 By job volume Workiz Quote only — no published rate card
- What you can see before a sales call ServiceM8 publishes its plan prices, with named gaps Workiz gives you a quote, never a rate card
- Automation and workflows ServiceM8 included Workiz included, with limits
- Mobile app ServiceM8 included, with limits Workiz included
- What would not
-
- Trying it first — both publish a free trial
- Where you would start
- Custom quote This vendor sells through its sales team and prices each shop individually.
Before you move off ServiceM8
Official — Read from each vendor's own pages.- What you are in now
- ServiceM8's Free plan runs month to month. Ask the other side the same question before the demo.
- What taking a card costs you
- 3.05% + 30¢ per transaction The rate charged on a US-issued card, American Express included. Leaving ServiceM8 means leaving its card processing too. Get the other side's figure before you move.
- Getting set up
- Not publicly disclosed No mandatory vendor fee is published. Third-party partner fees are not set by ServiceM8 and are not published. No vendor we track publishes one, which is not the same as there not being one.
- Getting your data back out
- Unknown, for ServiceM8 and for everything listed above. Treat it as unknown rather than free, and get the answer in writing.
- Trying before you move
- 3 of the 5 publish one: Housecall Pro, Jobber, Workiz. Run a week of real jobs through one before you move anything off ServiceM8.
What this page will not tell you about ServiceM8
Which of these works out cheaper for your shop. They do not meter the same thing, so your own head count and job count settle it and nobody else's can.
Find my software ServiceM8 pricing
More on why the meter matters: Per seat or per job: which billing model is cheaper for your shop?
Where this information comes from
- ServiceM8, in full
- Every ServiceM8 page we read. Each product listed above cites its own, on its own page. Official — Published by the vendor.
Primary sources we read
- ServiceM8 — US homepage (opens in a new tab) checked
- ServiceM8 — US pricing (opens in a new tab) checked
- ServiceM8 — US pricing, full plan comparison matrix (opens in a new tab) checked
- ServiceM8 Help Center — Automation overview (opens in a new tab) checked
- ServiceM8 Help Center — Client card overview (opens in a new tab) checked
- ServiceM8 Help Center — Dispatch Board overview (opens in a new tab) checked
- ServiceM8 Pay — card processing fees & payout speed (opens in a new tab) checked
“Verified” means a person re-read the source on the date shown. A deploy never changes that date.