Skip to content

Jobber alternatives: what changes when you stop paying per seat

You are most likely here because the bill moves with the number of logins. Jobber charges for each person who needs one, and publishes a rate for every extra seat, so a crew that grows by two grows the software bill by two. That is our reading of what Jobber itself publishes. It is also worth saying what Jobber does not tell you: it publishes no job allowance either way, so a two-person shop running heavy volume is the case its rate card is quietest about.

What Jobber does well

Our analysis — Our reading, with the Jobber record behind each line.

Plenty of shops should read this page and stay where they are. Before anything below, here is what we can show that Jobber gets right.

  • It puts every tier figure on its own page, which most of this set will not do.

    4 tiers with a figure on the vendor's own page
  • The seat charge is published, so the cost of hiring is a number you can work out before you hire.

    Per seat
  • You get two weeks in the product without handing over a card.

    14-day free trial — no card needed
  • It publishes what card payments cost, as a percentage and a per-transaction charge, so a month of takings can be worked out in advance.

    Credit card processing (Jobber Payments) 2.9% + 30¢ per transaction 2.9% + 30 cents.

What Jobber will not tell you

Not verified — Checked against Jobber's own pages, and still open.

These are the figures we went looking for on Jobber's own pages and did not find — not our guesses about them, and not zeros.

Onboarding / setup fee
Not publicly disclosed No onboarding, setup or implementation fee appears on the pricing page.

What you would get instead

These 5 earned a place the same way: something verified on both sides that genuinely differs from Jobber. Anything we could not tell apart from Jobber is not here, however well known. Alphabetical, unranked.

FieldEdge

Official — Both sides read from each vendor's own published pages.
What changes
  • How it bills Jobber Per seat FieldEdge Quote only — no published rate card
  • What you can see before a sales call Jobber publishes every plan price FieldEdge gives you a quote, never a rate card
  • Online booking Jobber included FieldEdge included, with limits
Where you would start
Custom quote This vendor sells through its sales team and prices each shop individually.

Housecall Pro

Official — Both sides read from each vendor's own published pages.
What changes
  • How it bills Jobber Per seat Housecall Pro Flat per tier, seats bundled
What would not
  • What you can see before a sales call — both put their figures on their own site
  • Trying it first — both publish a free trial
Where you would start
$79 /mo 1 user included

ServiceM8

Official — Both sides read from each vendor's own published pages.
What changes
  • How it bills Jobber Per seat ServiceM8 By job volume
  • Mobile app Jobber included ServiceM8 included, with limits
What would not
  • What you can see before a sales call — both put their figures on their own site
  • Trying it first — both publish a free trial
Where you would start
$0 /mo 30 jobs/month, 1 user — verified: no charge.

ServiceTitan

Official — Both sides read from each vendor's own published pages.
What changes
  • How it bills Jobber Per seat ServiceTitan Per technician
  • What you can see before a sales call Jobber publishes every plan price ServiceTitan gives you a quote, never a rate card
Where you would start
Custom quote This vendor sells through its sales team and prices each shop individually.

Workiz

Official — Both sides read from each vendor's own published pages.
What changes
  • How it bills Jobber Per seat Workiz Quote only — no published rate card
  • What you can see before a sales call Jobber publishes every plan price Workiz gives you a quote, never a rate card
  • Automation and workflows Jobber included Workiz included, with limits
What would not
  • Trying it first — both publish a free trial
Where you would start
Custom quote This vendor sells through its sales team and prices each shop individually.

Before you move off Jobber

Official — Read from each vendor's own pages.
What you are in now
Jobber's Core plan runs month to month. Ask the other side the same question before the demo.
What taking a card costs you
2.9% + 30¢ per transaction 2.9% + 30 cents. Leaving Jobber means leaving its card processing too. Get the other side's figure before you move.
Getting set up
Not publicly disclosed No onboarding, setup or implementation fee appears on the pricing page. No vendor we track publishes one, which is not the same as there not being one.
Getting your data back out
Unknown, for Jobber and for everything listed above. Treat it as unknown rather than free, and get the answer in writing.
Trying before you move
3 of the 5 publish one: Housecall Pro, ServiceM8, Workiz. Run a week of real jobs through one before you move anything off Jobber.

What this page will not tell you about Jobber

Which of these works out cheaper for your shop. They do not meter the same thing, so your own head count and job count settle it and nobody else's can.

Find my software Jobber pricing

More on why the meter matters: Per seat or per job: which billing model is cheaper for your shop?

Where this information comes from

Jobber, in full
Every Jobber page we read. Each product listed above cites its own, on its own page. Official — Published by the vendor.

Primary sources we read

“Verified” means a person re-read the source on the date shown. A deploy never changes that date.