Housecall Pro alternatives: what changes when seats stop coming in bundles
Two things send shops looking. Housecall Pro bundles logins into the tier, so taking on one more person can mean climbing a whole tier rather than paying for one login — and below the top tier it does not publish what an extra login costs, which makes the cost of outgrowing a tier unknown rather than small. Its card rate is published as a floor rather than a rate, so the figure on the page is the best case and not the one you can plan against.
What Housecall Pro does well
Our analysis — Our reading, with the Housecall Pro record behind each line.Plenty of shops should read this page and stay where they are. Before anything below, here is what we can show that Housecall Pro gets right.
Logins come bundled into the tier, so an office where several people need access is one charge rather than several.
Flat per tier, seats bundledEach tier states how many logins you are buying, so you can see which one your shop lands in.
Basic 1 user Essentials 5 users MAX 8 usersEvery tier figure is published on its own page, monthly and annual.
3 tiers with a figure on the vendor's own pageYou get two weeks in the product with no card required.
14-day free trial — no card needed
What Housecall Pro will not tell you
Not verified — Checked against Housecall Pro's own pages, and still open.These are the figures we went looking for on Housecall Pro's own pages and did not find — not our guesses about them, and not zeros.
Plan prices (monthly and annual) are fully published, but two cost drivers are not: the cost of additional users on Basic and Essentials (the vendor publishes a per-seat price only for MAX), and the actual card-processing rate (published only as the floor "as low as 2.59%", with no fixed per-transaction fee and no published explanation of what moves the rate).
- What one more login costs
- Not publicly disclosed The vendor states "Additional users are available on the MAX plan" and publishes a per-user price only for MAX. Whether this plan can add seats at all, and at what price, is not published.
- Onboarding / setup fee
- Not publicly disclosed No setup/onboarding/implementation fee appears on the pricing page. The page states "No contracts" and "No long-term contracts".
- Pipeline
- Not publicly disclosed Named by the vendor as a paid add-on; price not published.
- Sales Proposal Tool
- Not publicly disclosed Described as a "$40/mo value" included in MAX. That figure is framed as a bundled value, not a list price, and the standalone purchase price was not separately confirmed — so no amount is asserted — a marketing figure is not a price.
What you would get instead
These 5 earned a place the same way: something verified on both sides that genuinely differs from Housecall Pro. Anything we could not tell apart from Housecall Pro is not here, however well known. Alphabetical, unranked.
FieldEdge
Official — Both sides read from each vendor's own published pages.- What changes
-
- How it bills Housecall Pro Flat per tier, seats bundled FieldEdge Quote only — no published rate card
- What you can see before a sales call Housecall Pro publishes its plan prices, with named gaps FieldEdge gives you a quote, never a rate card
- Online booking Housecall Pro included FieldEdge included, with limits
- Where you would start
- Custom quote This vendor sells through its sales team and prices each shop individually.
Jobber
Official — Both sides read from each vendor's own published pages.- What changes
-
- How it bills Housecall Pro Flat per tier, seats bundled Jobber Per seat
- What would not
-
- What you can see before a sales call — both put their figures on their own site
- Trying it first — both publish a free trial
- Where you would start
- $49 /mo 1 user included
What Jobber is, in full Housecall Pro and Jobber, side by side
ServiceM8
Official — Both sides read from each vendor's own published pages.- What changes
-
- How it bills Housecall Pro Flat per tier, seats bundled ServiceM8 By job volume
- Mobile app Housecall Pro included ServiceM8 included, with limits
- What would not
-
- What you can see before a sales call — both put their figures on their own site
- Trying it first — both publish a free trial
- Where you would start
- $0 /mo 30 jobs/month, 1 user — verified: no charge.
ServiceTitan
Official — Both sides read from each vendor's own published pages.- What changes
-
- How it bills Housecall Pro Flat per tier, seats bundled ServiceTitan Per technician
- What you can see before a sales call Housecall Pro publishes its plan prices, with named gaps ServiceTitan gives you a quote, never a rate card
- Where you would start
- Custom quote This vendor sells through its sales team and prices each shop individually.
Workiz
Official — Both sides read from each vendor's own published pages.- What changes
-
- How it bills Housecall Pro Flat per tier, seats bundled Workiz Quote only — no published rate card
- What you can see before a sales call Housecall Pro publishes its plan prices, with named gaps Workiz gives you a quote, never a rate card
- Automation and workflows Housecall Pro included Workiz included, with limits
- What would not
-
- Trying it first — both publish a free trial
- Where you would start
- Custom quote This vendor sells through its sales team and prices each shop individually.
Before you move off Housecall Pro
Official — Read from each vendor's own pages.- What you are in now
- Housecall Pro's Basic plan runs month to month. Ask the other side the same question before the demo.
- What taking a card costs you
- from 2.59% per transaction — a stated lower bound, not a price anyone is quoted. "as low as 2.59%" is the bottom of a range, not a rate anyone is quoted. What a given shop actually pays, and what moves it up from there, are not published anywhere on the page. Leaving Housecall Pro means leaving its card processing too. Get the other side's figure before you move.
- Getting set up
- Not publicly disclosed No setup/onboarding/implementation fee appears on the pricing page. The page states "No contracts" and "No long-term contracts". No vendor we track publishes one, which is not the same as there not being one.
- Getting your data back out
- Unknown, for Housecall Pro and for everything listed above. Treat it as unknown rather than free, and get the answer in writing.
- Trying before you move
- 3 of the 5 publish one: Jobber, ServiceM8, Workiz. Run a week of real jobs through one before you move anything off Housecall Pro.
What this page will not tell you about Housecall Pro
Which of these works out cheaper for your shop. They do not meter the same thing, so your own head count and job count settle it and nobody else's can.
Find my software Housecall Pro pricing
More on why the meter matters: Per seat or per job: which billing model is cheaper for your shop?
Where this information comes from
- Housecall Pro, in full
- Every Housecall Pro page we read. Each product listed above cites its own, on its own page. Official — Published by the vendor.
Primary sources we read
- Housecall Pro — Features (opens in a new tab) checked
- Housecall Pro — Industries (opens in a new tab) checked
- Housecall Pro — machine-readable company info (opens in a new tab) checked
- Housecall Pro — Pricing (opens in a new tab) checked
- Housecall Pro — Roofing Contractor Software (opens in a new tab) checked
“Verified” means a person re-read the source on the date shown. A deploy never changes that date.