Skip to content

FieldEdge alternatives: which ones you can try before a sales call

FieldEdge is the one vendor in this set that answers the trial question outright, and the answer is no. It also sells by quote, so there is no figure to compare and no way to get hands on the product first — you evaluate it through a salesperson or not at all. Its online booking is narrower than the word usually implies, too: a customer picks from times the office has published, and whether that slot is confirmed without somebody in the office accepting it is not stated on FieldEdge’s own pages.

What FieldEdge does well

Our analysis — Our reading, with the FieldEdge record behind each line.

Plenty of shops should read this page and stay where they are. Before anything below, here is what we can show that FieldEdge gets right.

  • It answers the trial question outright rather than leaving you to guess, and a no you can plan around is still an answer.

    No free trial
  • It keeps books in QuickBooks rather than asking you to move your accounting.

    QuickBooks integration Included
  • Recurring work — maintenance agreements and the visits that come with them — is handled in the product.

    Recurring jobs Included

What FieldEdge will not tell you

Not verified — Checked against FieldEdge's own pages, and still open.

These are the figures we went looking for on FieldEdge's own pages and did not find — not our guesses about them, and not zeros.

What it costs a month
Custom quote FieldEdge publishes no prices: "Our three plans allow you to customize the software and add-ons based on the specific features you need, so pricing can vary!"
What one more login costs
Custom quote The number of technicians or employees is a named quote driver, but no per-seat rate is published.
FieldEdge Payments processing
Not publicly disclosed FieldEdge Payments exists but no rates were found published.
Onboarding
Not publicly disclosed Onboarding is described as team-led; no onboarding fee is published.

What you would get instead

These 5 earned a place the same way: something verified on both sides that genuinely differs from FieldEdge. Anything we could not tell apart from FieldEdge is not here, however well known. Alphabetical, unranked.

Housecall Pro

Official — Both sides read from each vendor's own published pages.
What changes
  • How it bills FieldEdge Quote only — no published rate card Housecall Pro Flat per tier, seats bundled
  • What you can see before a sales call FieldEdge gives you a quote, never a rate card Housecall Pro publishes its plan prices, with named gaps
  • Online booking FieldEdge included, with limits Housecall Pro included
Where you would start
$79 /mo 1 user included

Jobber

Official — Both sides read from each vendor's own published pages.
What changes
  • How it bills FieldEdge Quote only — no published rate card Jobber Per seat
  • What you can see before a sales call FieldEdge gives you a quote, never a rate card Jobber publishes every plan price
  • Online booking FieldEdge included, with limits Jobber included
Where you would start
$49 /mo 1 user included

ServiceM8

Official — Both sides read from each vendor's own published pages.
What changes
  • How it bills FieldEdge Quote only — no published rate card ServiceM8 By job volume
  • What you can see before a sales call FieldEdge gives you a quote, never a rate card ServiceM8 publishes its plan prices, with named gaps
  • Online booking FieldEdge included, with limits ServiceM8 included
  • Mobile app FieldEdge included ServiceM8 included, with limits
Where you would start
$0 /mo 30 jobs/month, 1 user — verified: no charge.

ServiceTitan

Official — Both sides read from each vendor's own published pages.
What changes
  • How it bills FieldEdge Quote only — no published rate card ServiceTitan Per technician
  • Online booking FieldEdge included, with limits ServiceTitan included
What would not
  • What you can see before a sales call — neither will give you a figure without a call
Where you would start
Custom quote This vendor sells through its sales team and prices each shop individually.

Workiz

Official — Both sides read from each vendor's own published pages.
What changes
  • Online booking FieldEdge included, with limits Workiz included
  • Automation and workflows FieldEdge included Workiz included, with limits
What would not
  • How it bills — quote only — no published rate card
  • What you can see before a sales call — neither will give you a figure without a call
Where you would start
Custom quote This vendor sells through its sales team and prices each shop individually.

Before you move off FieldEdge

Official — Read from each vendor's own pages.
What you are in now
We have not established what FieldEdge's Select plan commits you to. Ask the other side the same question before the demo.
What taking a card costs you
Not publicly disclosed A figure exists, but the vendor does not publish it. We asked its public materials first. FieldEdge Payments exists but no rates were found published. Leaving FieldEdge means leaving its card processing too. Get the other side's figure before you move.
Getting set up
Not publicly disclosed Onboarding is described as team-led; no onboarding fee is published. No vendor we track publishes one, which is not the same as there not being one.
Getting your data back out
Unknown, for FieldEdge and for everything listed above. Treat it as unknown rather than free, and get the answer in writing.
Trying before you move
4 of the 5 publish one: Housecall Pro, Jobber, ServiceM8, Workiz. Run a week of real jobs through one before you move anything off FieldEdge.

What this page will not tell you about FieldEdge

Which of these works out cheaper for your shop. They do not meter the same thing, so your own head count and job count settle it and nobody else's can.

Find my software FieldEdge pricing

More on why the meter matters: Per seat or per job: which billing model is cheaper for your shop?

Where this information comes from

FieldEdge, in full
Every FieldEdge page we read. Each product listed above cites its own, on its own page. Official — Published by the vendor.

Primary sources we read

“Verified” means a person re-read the source on the date shown. A deploy never changes that date.